Eat good food and share!

The Pioneer Woman aka pDub

Image by Brad Trump Photography via Flickr

The Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, is one of my favorite food bloggers. Recently I was searching for a great cinnamon roll recipe and ran across hers in a Google search. So, I thought… “I’ll bite.”  (haha… it’s funny because you bite cinnamon rolls!)

The intro to her blogpost about cinnamon rolls says that this is a treasured recipe of hers… her mom’s recipe. She claims that people will swoon, drool, even propose marriage to you after eating these cinnamon rolls!

I don’t know about that… yet… but the first words out of daughter #1’s mouth after eating one of these cinnamon rolls was, “Good God these are decadent!”

I’m only going to include the recipe here… I strongly suggest that you go over to the Pioneer Woman’s website and use her step-by-step instructions.

Ingredients

  • 1 quart Whole Milk
  • 1 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 packages Active Dry Yeast
  • 8 cups (Plus 1 Cup Extra, Separated) All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon (heaping) Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon (scant) Baking Soda
  • 1 Tablespoon (heaping) Salt
  • Plenty Of Melted Butter
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • Generous Sprinkling Of Cinnamon
  • _____
  • MAPLE FROSTING:
  • 1 bag Powdered Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Maple Flavoring
  • ½ cups Milk
  • ¼ cups Melted Butter
  • ¼ cups Brewed Coffee
  • ⅛ teaspoons Salt

Preparation Instructions

Mix the milk, vegetable oil and sugar in a pan. Scald the mixture (heat until just before the boiling point). Turn off heat and leave to cool 45 minutes to 1 hour. When the mixture is lukewarm to warm, but NOT hot, sprinkle in both packages of Active Dry Yeast. Let this sit for a minute. Then add 8 cups of all-purpose flour. Stir mixture together. Cover and let rise for at least an hour.

After rising for at least an hour, add 1 more cup of flour, the baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir mixture together. (At this point, you could cover the dough and put it in the fridge until you need it – overnight or even a day or two, if necessary. Just keep your eye on it and if it starts to overflow out of the pan, just punch it down).

When ready to prepare rolls: Sprinkle rolling surface generously with flour. Take half the dough and form a rough rectangle. Then roll the dough thin, maintaining a general rectangular shape. Drizzle 1/2 to 1 cup melted butter over the dough. Now sprinkle 1 cup of sugar over the butter followed by a generous sprinkling of cinnamon.

Now, starting at the opposite end, begin rolling the dough in a neat line toward you. Keep the roll relatively tight as you go. Next, pinch the seam of the roll to seal it.

Spread 1 tablespoon of melted butter in a seven inch round foil cake or pie pan. Then begin cutting the rolls approximately ¾ to 1 inch thick and laying them in the buttered pans.

Repeat this process with the other half of the dough. Let the rolls rise for 20 to 30 minutes, then bake at 400 degrees (see note below) until light golden brown, about 15 to 18 minutes.

For the frosting, mix together all ingredients listed and stir well until smooth. It should be thick but pourable. Taste and adjust as needed. Generously drizzle over the warm rolls. Go crazy and don’t skimp on the frosting.

Note: My rolls don’t work for me at 400 degrees anymore. I now bake them at 375 degrees.

Deliver some as holiday gifts, and prepare for professions of love and marriage proposals!

Comments on: "The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls" (17)

  1. […] The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls (chefhermansfood.com) […]

  2. Hello thanks for yet another very interesting post. Where do you receive your inspiration for all this :|? – Bosal exhaust

    • Stephanie said:

      Hi, and thank you! I get my inspiration from everyday life. People will ask me for a recipe and I think, “Well I should share that!” Hope to see you again on my blog!

  3. Highly rated post. I learn interesting things on different blogs everyday. Handful of stimulating to enjoy a book content from other writers and practice a little something at their store. I’d need to use some in this content on my blog if you decide to don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link into your blog post. Many thanks sharing.

  4. I want to thankx for the efforts you have put in writing this post. I am hoping the same top-quality blogpost from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to begin my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good model of it.

  5. Thanks for sharing this fine piece. Very inspiring! (as always, btw)

  6. Congratulations on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put together a great blog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This is definitely a must-see blog!

  7. I really like visiting your blog, it is actually one of the the real treats of my week. I particularly enjoy reading it during my lunch hour.

  8. This is a good posting, I was wondering if I could use this write-up on my website, I will link it back to your website though. If this is a problem please let me know and I will take it down right away

  9. It’s not that I want to duplicate your web page, but I really like the style and design. Could you tell me which theme are you using? Or was it especially designed?

  10. […] The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls (chefhermansfood.com) […]

  11. I see a lot of interesting articles here. Bookmarked for future referrence.

  12. One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

  13. I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites blog site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my site as well and let me know what you think.

  14. Congratulations on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put together a great blog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This is definitely a must-see blog!

  15. I hope you never stop! This is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest bloggers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

  16. I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites blog site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my site as well and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

