Eat good food and share!

Listen. This is one great vegan recipe for chili! So great that I had to smuggle it out of my daughter’s house under dark of night. For real. This is one time I hope she doesn’t read my blog! However, I think daughter #2 reads, so I might have to bribe her not to squeal on me.

I’m telling you, this chili is so good that four adults made waste to an entire pot of the stuff. Daughter #1 (whom we shall refer to by her nickname, Tots) even asked us, “Gee. Would you all like to come out and lick the pot, too?” I was tempted.

Ingredients –

1 small butternut squash, peeled, halved and seeded

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 medium red onion

1 medium carrot, finely chopped

1 medium orange bell pepper, coarsly chopped (optional)

2 – 14.5 oz can crushed tomatoes

2 tablespoons tomato paste

4 cups cooked or 3 (15.5 oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed

1 chipotle chile in adobo, minced

1 cup apple cider

3 tablespoons chili powder

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 teaspoon sugar

salt and freshly ground black pepper

Cut the squash into 1/4-inch cubes and set aside.

Give your chipotle a whirl in your food processor – a small one like this is you have it.

In a large saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the squash, onion, carrot and bell pepper, if using. Cover and cook until softenend, about 10 minutes.

Add the tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, and chipotle. Stir in the apple juice, chili powder, allspice, sugar, salt and black pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer, covered, until vegetables are tender, about 30 minutes more. Stir occasionally.

Uncover and simmer about 10 minutes longer. Serve immediately.

Eat fast so you can get seconds!!

 

 

 

Comments on: "Black Bean and Butternut Chili" (3)

  1. Heather said:

    I hope you feel bad for stealing from your own daughter!

    • Stephanie said:

      I didn’t feel quite so bad after she emailed me the recipe. 🙂

  2. This has definitely sparked up an thought in my thoughts. That is a amazing web site submit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

