Eat good food and share!

I am VERY excited to have Lisa Orgler as a guest blogger today! Lisa and I  first became acquainted through Foodbuzz, a website of and for food bloggers. I saw her work and contacted her about designing a banner for my Chef Herman blog. To say that I was pleased with the results is really an understatement. It’s awesome to watch an idea come to life.

My marketing director (my daughter, @njobst on Twitter) told me that it would be a good idea to have occasional guest bloggers. Nicole was the first with her Food Detox post. And since I truly love Lisa’s work (go vote for her at Foodbuzz’ Project Food Blog!) I decided that she should be the first official (non-nepotism) guest blogger! Enjoy her post, her beautiful illustrations and visit her website. It’s a visual treat!

Lisa Orgler
The Lunch Box Project
http://www.lunchboxproject.com

Top Ten things I like about food
In 2009 I set a goal to draw one food image a day for one year.  I accomplished that feat and today still enjoy whipping up a meal with pen and paintbrush in hand. I’m surprised that boredom hasn’t seeped into my food art world…since I typically want to move onto new subjects after several months. So I asked myself why I love food.

1. It’s fun to draw
Talk about having a source of inspiration daily!  Hmmm, have I ever gone a whole day without eating?  If I’m going to paint every day, why not pick a topic that requires no search?

2. Every food has a story
Every food has its own history and folklore, plus we have our own personal history with certain foods.

3. It’s challenging (at least for me)
I can’t cook (there I said it), at least not very well.  Because I don’t know very much about cooking and baking, I’m quite intrigued with it…and continually want to learn more and more.

4. It’s also simple
Food can be challenging, but thank goodness for me, it’s also simple.  I can enjoy a simple apple, a bowl of chocolate ice cream or just corn-on-the-cob.

5. Everyone has a favorite
Foods are up there with colors…everyone has a favorite.

6. It can be accompanied by pretty things
Food is neat in itself, but it’s even better when paired with your favorite dishes, tablecloth, and napkins.

7. Everyone puts a different spin on it
Whether you are traveling regionally, nationally, or internationally everyone combines and prepares foods differently.  Think of all the different ways you can enjoy a simple tomato.

8. Special events and food go hand in hand
Have you ever heard of a birthday party without a cake or Thanksgiving without a turkey?

9. The same flavor can come in multiple forms
If you love blueberries you can also enjoy blueberry pie, blueberry ice cream, blueberry yogurt, and blueberry pancakes.

10. It makes me happy (most of the time)
I love food and am especially happy after a good meal. If I overeat I want to curse it, but that doesn’t overshadow the mostly happy times.  Quite honestly, it’s my love of food that drove me to overeat in the first place.

Comments on: "Guest Post – Lisa Orgler!" (5)

  1. Love the cool drawings, they’d make great table mats don’t you think!! Great to meet you Lisa 🙂

  2. Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

  3. Simply learned your internet page by way of google and i consider this might be a disgrace that you’re not ranked higher due to the reality that that’s a great publish. To change this i established to avoid losing your Internet website to my Rss reader and I’ll attempt to indicate you in one of my posts since you really deserv additional readers when publishing content material of this high quality.

  4. I found your blog website on google and test a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the really great operate. I just extra up your Rss feed to my Msn News Reader. Seeking forward to reading extra from you later on!?

    • Stephanie said:

      Thank you so much! I’ll be doing several new posts in the coming week, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

