Eat good food and share!

My somewhat famous chocolate chip cookies…

This is a recipe that I’ve been using for YEARS… everybody loves them!

I’ve actually used these cookies as bribes… “If you do this, I’ll make you some cookies!” For real. I’ve tweaked it over the years and this is what works for me. They’re somewhat soft but have an outside crispness reminiscent of shortbread. They’re ooey and gooey and people insist that I have a top-secret ingredient that makes my particular batches of these cookies stand out above the rest. Well…. maybe I do, maybe I don’t!

1 c. granulated sugar
1 c. packed brown sugar
2/3 cup cold butter
2/3 cup butter flavored Crisco
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla (real, not imitation!)
3 c. all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
12 oz. pkg. good quality chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream together sugars butter shortening. Add eggs and vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredients. Try not to over-stir! Drop dough by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake until light brown, about 8 to 10 minutes.

Cool slightly before removing from cookie sheet.

Chocolate Chip Cookies on FoodistaChocolate Chip Cookies

Comments on: "Somewhat Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies" (8)

  1. wow….those are great looking cookies!! thanks for sharing and welcome to food buzz!

    • Stephanie said:

      Thanks! I actually didn’t think those were my best-looking cookies, and thanks for the welcome! I’m loving Food Buzz!

  2. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  3. Oooh…i love cookie bribes! With this recipe, have you tried cooling the cookie dough overnight? I love collecting cookie recipes 🙂 If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    • Stephanie said:

      If I were to cool the dough overnight, I would make it into a roll and slice off my cookies. The dough tends to get VERY firm after an overnight cooling. And yes, I love cookie bribes too! 🙂

  4. Found this in Foodista! Wow, those cookiessss, i want one now! Haha, good job. I might snatch this cookie recipe too, I hope you don’t mind. 😀

  5. Cookies are meant to be used for bribes, way better than money, well for kids maybe, would still like the money but if you can’t have the money a cookie is a good second!

  6. Erika said:

    The butter is cold! AHA! There really is nothing better than these cookies!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

